Salamanca-visiting after two years!

Standard

Last weekend I took a weekend trip to Salamanca…the city where I studied abroad 2 years ago! I wanted to make sure I visited this city while I was here in Spain because it’s so close to Logroño! I also never thought I would go back there so it was really special to visit all the places we went to and remember all the memories I have of those summer months!

We traveled to Burgos in the morning to spend some time there and to take the train from Burgos to Salamanca. Long story short…we missed our train from Burgos to Salamanca because of some google maps confusion and a recent change of train stations to a new larger one way outside the city! But with the no pasa nada attitude intact my friend and I made it to the station and got our tickets fixed and were eventually on our way to Salamanca three hours later!

As soon as we stepped off the train in Salamanca I knew exactly where we were and was able to navigate through the city to find our hostel! We ended up getting this very cheap hostel right on the Plaza Mayor! When I say that I mean our room had a view of the Plaza!! It was so crazy but such a nice surprise!

 

 

IMG_4154

 

After living in Logroño this city seemed like it was FULL of students! I didn’t realize it while I was studying there but it does have a younger population while Logroño has more families and older people! You also hear more English and other foreign languages everywhere! We enjoyed being tourists and walking around to see all the major sites! Our favorite place to be though was the Plaza Mayor! We spent many hours sitting at cafes people watching the day away!! We also had perfect weather the whole weekend which allowed us to spend the majority of our time outside!!

We went to my favorite gelato place in the Plaza and visited a few new cafes and restaurants! Since I never really ate out and went to many cafes while in the city it was a different perspective! My time studying abroad was completely different from my time here in Spain this year! Both great experiences though!

love these views!

love these views!

The ISA office :)

The ISA office 🙂

Sitting in the Plaza

Sitting in the Plaza

It was nice to see that nothing had really changed since I had been there and it was a very familiar place! I hope that one day I can do the same with Logroño!

About Beth

I'm Beth- recent graduate living in Spain, teaching English, and traveling Europe! Thanks for following my adventures! For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

